
Bryson DeChambeau's Rules Mix-Up at the 2025 U.S. Open: A Near Disaster Averted
2 min read
The Situation
What rules controversy did Bryson DeChambeau face during the first round of the 2025 U.S. Open at Oakmont, and how was it resolved?
The Ruling
During the first round of the 2025 U.S. Open at Oakmont, Bryson DeChambeau encountered a rules controversy on the par-5 4th hole. After his tee shot landed in a fairway bunker, his subsequent shot came to rest on a spectator crosswalk. Entitled to free relief from the obstruction, DeChambeau's caddie picked up his ball before a marker was placed, leading to initial confusion about the proper procedure.
According to reports, DeChambeau intended to play his next shot from the original spot, but because his caddie had already lifted the ball, he was required to take relief. The primary issue arose when DeChambeau, instead of dropping the ball as required by the rules, placed it at what he believed to be the nearest point of relief. A nearby rules official quickly intervened, pointing out the mistake. DeChambeau, seemingly unaware of his error, acknowledged it and proceeded to drop the ball correctly.
Had DeChambeau played his shot after placing the ball, it would have resulted in a two-stroke penalty. This would have turned a potential par into a double bogey, increasing his first-round score from a 3-over 73 to a 5-over 75.
Commentators and fans expressed varied opinions on the incident. Some felt DeChambeau should have been penalized despite the correction, while others noted the leniency of the official. Sky Sports commentator Tony Johnstone remarked that in his 45 years as a professional, he had never seen a player mistakenly place a ball when taking a free drop. Other commentators, such as Nick Dougherty, described it as a "fairly stupid mistake," while acknowledging DeChambeau's intelligence.
DeChambeau himself acknowledged some disappointment with his overall play, stating that his score could have been better with improved putting. He finished the first day tied for 49th, with a three-over-par 73. The incident sparked debate about the application of golf rules, particularly concerning relief procedures and the difference between placing and dropping a ball. Some observers also questioned whether DeChambeau should have been penalized for his caddie lifting the ball without properly marking its position. Ultimately, the rules official's timely intervention prevented a potentially significant penalty, allowing DeChambeau to continue the tournament without further consequence from this particular incident.
According to reports, DeChambeau intended to play his next shot from the original spot, but because his caddie had already lifted the ball, he was required to take relief. The primary issue arose when DeChambeau, instead of dropping the ball as required by the rules, placed it at what he believed to be the nearest point of relief. A nearby rules official quickly intervened, pointing out the mistake. DeChambeau, seemingly unaware of his error, acknowledged it and proceeded to drop the ball correctly.
Had DeChambeau played his shot after placing the ball, it would have resulted in a two-stroke penalty. This would have turned a potential par into a double bogey, increasing his first-round score from a 3-over 73 to a 5-over 75.
Commentators and fans expressed varied opinions on the incident. Some felt DeChambeau should have been penalized despite the correction, while others noted the leniency of the official. Sky Sports commentator Tony Johnstone remarked that in his 45 years as a professional, he had never seen a player mistakenly place a ball when taking a free drop. Other commentators, such as Nick Dougherty, described it as a "fairly stupid mistake," while acknowledging DeChambeau's intelligence.
DeChambeau himself acknowledged some disappointment with his overall play, stating that his score could have been better with improved putting. He finished the first day tied for 49th, with a three-over-par 73. The incident sparked debate about the application of golf rules, particularly concerning relief procedures and the difference between placing and dropping a ball. Some observers also questioned whether DeChambeau should have been penalized for his caddie lifting the ball without properly marking its position. Ultimately, the rules official's timely intervention prevented a potentially significant penalty, allowing DeChambeau to continue the tournament without further consequence from this particular incident.