Rules of Golf

Deliberately Deflecting Partner's Ball in Four-Ball Match Play

3 min read

The Situation

In Four-Ball match play, if my partner deliberately strikes my moving ball on the green, what are the consequences?

The Ruling

In Four-Ball match play, if a player's ball is in motion on the putting green and their partner deliberately strikes it, the side will lose the hole due to a breach of the rules. Here's a detailed explanation based on the Rules of Golf:

1. Deliberate Deflection or Stopping of a Ball in Motion – Rule 11.2b
Rule 11.2b states that if a player or their partner deliberately deflects or stops any ball in motion, the player incurs the general penalty, which is loss of hole in match play.

This applies whether it’s the player’s own ball, their partner’s ball, or an opponent’s ball.

2. Partner’s Responsibility – Rule 23.5b
Rule 23.5b clarifies that in Four-Ball play, any deliberate action by a partner related to the other partner’s ball is treated as the partner’s own action.

Therefore, your partner's deliberate striking of your moving ball is considered your breach as well.
The penalty applies to the entire side.

3. Exception in Rule 11.2a Does Not Apply
Rule 11.2a includes an exception that allows a player to deliberately deflect or stop an opponent’s ball in motion without penalty if:

The ball has no reasonable chance of being holed (e.g., it is rolling past the hole and cannot return), and
The action is done as a concession to end the hole.

However, this exception only applies to an opponent’s ball, not a partner’s ball.

In the scenario, your partner struck your ball — so this exception does not apply, even if the ball was rolling past the hole.

4. Conclusion
Since your partner deliberately struck your moving ball, Rule 11.2b applies, and your side automatically incurs the loss of hole penalty in match play.

* The fact that your partner holed their own putt afterward is irrelevant.

Accordingly, your side does not win the hole but instead loses the hole due to this rules violation.

Summary:
Deliberately striking your partner’s moving ball in Four-Ball match play is a breach under Rules 11.2b and 23.5b, resulting in a loss of hole penalty for the side, regardless of the ball’s position relative to the hole or subsequent strokes. The exception in Rule 11.2a allowing deflection or stopping without penalty applies only to opponent’s balls under specific conditions and does not apply here.