
Lowry Picks Up Ball, Picks Up Laughs at the US Open
2 min read
The Situation
Did Shane Lowry really forget to mark his ball at the US Open? What happened?
The Ruling
If you're going to commit a rules blunder at a major championship, you might as well do it with a smile—and that’s exactly what Shane Lowry did during round two of the 2025 US Open at Oakmont.
Already miles outside the cut line and with nothing left to lose, the Irishman gave fans one of the more comical moments of the tournament. On the 14th green, Lowry casually walked up and picked up his ball without marking it first—a clear breach of Rule 14.1c, which requires players to mark the ball before lifting it on the putting green.
His caddie Darren Reynolds could only watch in disbelief, and the TV cameras caught the entire exchange. Lowry, realizing the gaffe almost immediately, called the penalty on himself. But instead of frustration or embarrassment, he just laughed—joined by playing partner Rory McIlroy, who seemed to enjoy the absurdity of the moment just as much.
At that point, Lowry was so far out of contention that you couldn’t help but think: “Does he even care anymore?” And honestly, that carefree attitude was refreshing. It was a reminder that even at the highest level of the game, golf is still just that—a game. And when things aren’t going your way, sometimes the best thing you can do is shrug, smile, and get on with it.
Sky Sports commentator Andrew Coltart mused whether the heat had gotten to Lowry’s head, while Rich Beem quipped, “You play this game long enough, you’re bound to do something like that.” It was all taken in stride—and maybe even welcomed as a bit of comic relief after a long, grinding day.
Lowry’s misstep didn’t affect his standing—he was already on his way home for the weekend—but it did give us a memorable moment. It was the second odd rules moment of the week, following a similar incident from Bryson DeChambeau.
As for Shane? He’ll bounce back. And if nothing else, he reminded us all that golf, with all its rules and pressures, is still allowed to be fun once in a while.
Already miles outside the cut line and with nothing left to lose, the Irishman gave fans one of the more comical moments of the tournament. On the 14th green, Lowry casually walked up and picked up his ball without marking it first—a clear breach of Rule 14.1c, which requires players to mark the ball before lifting it on the putting green.
His caddie Darren Reynolds could only watch in disbelief, and the TV cameras caught the entire exchange. Lowry, realizing the gaffe almost immediately, called the penalty on himself. But instead of frustration or embarrassment, he just laughed—joined by playing partner Rory McIlroy, who seemed to enjoy the absurdity of the moment just as much.
At that point, Lowry was so far out of contention that you couldn’t help but think: “Does he even care anymore?” And honestly, that carefree attitude was refreshing. It was a reminder that even at the highest level of the game, golf is still just that—a game. And when things aren’t going your way, sometimes the best thing you can do is shrug, smile, and get on with it.
Sky Sports commentator Andrew Coltart mused whether the heat had gotten to Lowry’s head, while Rich Beem quipped, “You play this game long enough, you’re bound to do something like that.” It was all taken in stride—and maybe even welcomed as a bit of comic relief after a long, grinding day.
Lowry’s misstep didn’t affect his standing—he was already on his way home for the weekend—but it did give us a memorable moment. It was the second odd rules moment of the week, following a similar incident from Bryson DeChambeau.
As for Shane? He’ll bounce back. And if nothing else, he reminded us all that golf, with all its rules and pressures, is still allowed to be fun once in a while.