Rules of Golf

Touching Sand During Practice Swing in Bunker; Multiple Penalties

2 min read

The Situation

In stroke play, a player's ball is in a bunker. The player makes several practice swings, touching the sand each time. Another player points out that this violates the Rules. The player disagrees and takes another practice swing, again touching the sand before playing the stroke. What is the ruling?

The Ruling

The player incurs two separate general penalties, totaling four penalty strokes.

Here's the breakdown:

1. First Breach: The player's initial practice swings, where they repeatedly touch the sand, violate Rule 12.2b(1), which prohibits touching sand in a bunker during a practice swing. This results in a General Penalty (two penalty strokes in stroke play).

2. Intervening Event: The advice from the other player acts as an "intervening event." According to Rule 1.3c(4)/1 (Intervening Event Between Breaches Results in Multiple Penalties), if a player breaches a Rule and then breaches the same Rule again after an intervening event, they receive multiple penalties. Being informed of the breach is considered an intervening event.

3. Second Breach: Despite the warning, the player takes another practice swing and touches the sand again. This is a second, distinct breach of Rule 12.2b(1), resulting in another General Penalty (two penalty strokes).

In summary, touching the sand in a bunker during a practice swing is a breach of Rule 12.2b(1) and results in a General Penalty. If a player commits this breach, is then informed of the Rule, and then repeats the breach, the intervening advice leads to a second, separate penalty.