Rules of Golf

Using a Cart for Stance and Removing it Before Stroke

2 min read

The Situation

If a player moves a motorized cart to help take a stance for a shot, but removes the cart before making the stroke, is there a penalty?

The Ruling

Rule 8.1 states that a player cannot take actions to improve conditions affecting their stroke. These conditions include:

The lie or position of the ball,
The area intended for stance or swing, and
The line of play.

Rule 8.1a clarifies that you cannot improve these areas by placing a movable obstruction—like a golf cart—in a way that helps your play.

However, Rule 8.1c provides an exception. If you’ve accidentally improved your conditions by moving an object (like a cart) into position, you can avoid a penalty by restoring the original conditions before making your stroke. This means if the cart is removed and the advantageous position is eliminated before hitting the ball, you will not be penalized.

Key points to remember:

Placing a movable obstruction to assist with stance or swing (as described in Rule 8.1a) is only penalized if the improvement is still present when the stroke is made.
If you restore the conditions before playing by removing the cart, Rule 8.1c applies and no penalty is incurred.
Making the stroke while standing on the cart would result in a penalty.

In summary, moving a motorized cart to help with your stance is permissible, provided you remove it and restore the original conditions before making your stroke. Always refer to Rule 8.1, especially 8.1a and 8.1c, to avoid unnecessary penalties.