Rules of Golf

Smoothing Bunker Footprints and Affecting Another Player

1 min read

The Situation

If I smooth footprints in a bunker after playing my shot, is there a penalty if it affects another player's subsequent shot?

The Ruling

Per Rule 12.2b(3):

"After playing from a bunker, a player is allowed to smooth sand to care for the course without penalty—even if doing so improves conditions affecting the stroke of another player."

Key Points:
The player must be smoothing the sand solely to care for the course.

The act of smoothing must not breach any other Rule, such as Rule 8.1a (Improving Conditions Affecting the Stroke for themselves).

The smoothing is allowed even if it improves the conditions for another player’s stroke.

Example:
If Player A plays from a bunker and rakes their footprints, and this raking improves the lie or area of intended stance/swing for Player B, there is no penalty, provided Player A did it only to care for the course.

However, if Player A raked with the intent to assist Player B, then it could be considered a breach of Rule 8.3a (Deliberately Affecting Another Player’s Ball at Rest or Stroke), which is penalized.